Book Review: Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

23437156

Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

Ketterdam: a bustling hub of international trade where anything can be had for the right price—and no one knows that better than criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker. Kaz is offered a chance at a deadly heist that could make him rich beyond his wildest dreams. But he can’t pull it off alone…

A convict with a thirst for revenge.

A sharpshooter who can’t walk away from a wager.

A runaway with a privileged past.

A spy known as the Wraith.

A Heartrender using her magic to survive the slums.

A thief with a gift for unlikely escapes.

Kaz’s crew are the only ones who might stand between the world and destruction—if they don’t kill each other first.

-from Goodreads

My Review: 5 out of 5 stars

OMG YES.

This is everything I wanted and needed.

Okay lets break this thing down.

1. The cover. YASS. I’m all about it. Did you know that the hardcover has black tipped pages? I felt like a boss reading it. It satisfied my inner low-key goth.

2. The characters. I hate goody goody characters but I also like characters that aren’t completely evil. I like that mix of characters who are doing bad things but are wrestling with their choices. This book delivered.

3. The world. I loved the Grisha universe from the Shadow and Bone series. So this was as well crafted as that was, even more so in my opinion.

4. The romance. This had a surprising amount of romance in it. It wasn’t in your face about it, but it was there. And I was all about it. Gimme more of that. [ Wylan and Jesper are my OTP.]

5. The writing. Leigh Bardugo knows how to spin a tale. I have to say that I definitely enjoyed this book more than the Shadow and Bone series. There is just so much more going on in this one. I couldn’t put it down.

This was the book I needed. I had been in a huge reading slump, and now all I want to do is read. Thank you Leigh Bardugo. And I am so sorry to everyone in my general vicinity. If I see you I am going to recommend this book to you.

Review also found on my Goodreads + Tumblr!
2 thoughts on “Book Review: Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

Leave a Reply

