Book Review: The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly

23281931

The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly by Stephanie Oakes

A hard-hitting and hopeful story about the dangers of blind faith—and the power of having faith in yourself

The Kevinian cult has taken everything from seventeen-year-old Minnow: twelve years of her life, her family, her ability to trust. And when she rebelled, they took away her hands, too.

Now their Prophet has been murdered and their camp set aflame, and it’s clear that Minnow knows something—but she’s not talking. As she languishes in juvenile detention, she struggles to un-learn everything she has been taught to believe, adjusting to a life behind bars and recounting the events that led up to her incarceration. But when an FBI detective approaches her about making a deal, Minnow sees she can have the freedom she always dreamed of—if she’s willing to part with the terrible secrets of her past.

Gorgeously written, breathlessly page-turning and sprinkled with moments of unexpected humor, this harrowing debut is perfect for readers of Emily Murdoch’s If You Find Me and Nova Ren Suma’s The Walls Around Us , as well as for fans ofOrange is the New Black.

-from Goodreads

My review: 5 out of 5 stars!

Yes. All the stars.

This book was fantastic. I read this book in a day because it completely took me by surprise and sucked me in. I had read the synopsis, and was intrigued but I wasn’t sure I was going to read it. Cults kind of freak me out, you know? It’s a little scary to think about something like that because it is actually a real thing. Cults are creepy. In theory you would think that people giving up their lives to follow some guy who just spouts nonsense is completely insane and ridiculous. But it happens. That’s fucked up.

But I picked it up and read the first chapter and I was hooked. The writing was fantastic, you really get sucked in. You really felt for Minnow. The narrative was smoothly written, building up to revelations perfectly. Usually when the book switches from past to present, it gets a little confusing and can take you out of the story, but that didn’t happen. The writing was just so well done. I was panic reading. I needed to know what happened.

The cult was written so realistically, and I was furious as I read it. To read about such monstrosities happening to children who had no choices, and people who are completely brainwashed infuriated me. It just sucked me in. I wanted to fight for Minnow. I wanted to punch the preacher right in the dick.

I liked that there was a romance element but it wasn’t the focus. The relationships between the characters were a breath of fresh air. That was refreshing. This entire book was amazing and I highly recommend it. I cannot say enough about it. You all need to read it.

– Review also on my Goodreads!-

2 thoughts on “Book Review: The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly

Leave a Reply

