Book Review: The Scorpio Races

11210739

The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater

It happens at the start of every November: the Scorpio Races. Riders attempt to keep hold of their water horses long enough to make it to the finish line. Some riders live. Others die.

At age nineteen, Sean Kendrick is the returning champion. He is a young man of few words, and if he has any fears, he keeps them buried deep, where no one else can see them.

Puck Connolly is different. She never meant to ride in the Scorpio Races. But fate hasn’t given her much of a chance. So she enters the competition — the first girl ever to do so. She is in no way prepared for what is going to happen.

-from Goodreads

My rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars.

Yes! I know that I am reading a great book when I am panic reading. You know that feeling? Where you are frantically turning each page both excited and anxious about what lies on the next page. I love that feeling. This book gave me that feeling.

Lets start this off with horses. I freaking love horses. You put a horse in a book and I will read it. Water horses? Sign me up. I’m all about it. Capall Usisces sound like the coolest horses in the world. Although why you would try and ride these forces of nature is beyond me. (I would totally try it because I love riding any horses and I love making terrible decisions.) But racing them? Freaking terrifying. Why would anyone do that to themselves? Clearly it’s super dangerous. But I loved it! It was such a cool idea.

The characters were great. I loved Puck. Her chatacter development was perfect. She wasn’t perfect and I loved her for it. I loved that she was scared of racing and never really got over that. Just because you are brave dosent mean that you arent scared and I loved that Puck embodied that.

Sean was a great character. He was passionate and caring. I loved everything about his story arc. His respect and love for his capall usisce was admirable.

What I loved most about these two characters was how well they fit together. They weren’t perfect but their flaws made their story more real. I loved that there was a slow moving romance and that their romance wasn’t the core of the story. It was just a touch of romance and it was perfect. I am a sucker for character development and the main characters, even most minor characters, had a great development over the course of the story. Also I usually have issues with alternating points of view but it was so well written that it didn’t affect me.

The story was great. Well written and exciting.

The only thing that kept this from being a five star rating was that sometimes I felt like things got a little confusing. Some things happened and I wanted a bit more explanation. But damn this was good. I am so glad Deanna recommended this to me. I will probably (definitely) buy it.

– Review also on Goodreads-

Leave a Reply

