Book Review: The Gemstone Chronicles Book One: The Carnelian

15838579

The Gemstone Chronicles Book One: The Carnelian by William L. Stuart

When Aidan and Maggie find a fairy cross while rock-hunting with their grandfather, it’s just an oddity. But when they discover there is an elf imprisoned in the stone and set him free, they and their grandparents, Nana and Beebop, are attacked by Dark Elves and forced to flee to the magical world of Celahir.

In Celahir, Findecano – the elf the children freed from the fairy cross – leads them on a quest to recover gemstones stolen from the Elven Bow by the Dark Elves. Without the restoration of the gemstones to the Elven Bow, the balance between good and evil in Celahir – and the human world – could tip toward evil.

– from Goodreads

Book gifted by the author in exchange for a fair and honest review.

My Rating: 4.5 stars out of 5

I really enjoyed this book! It’s a middle grade book that is fun for the whole family. I could see my father reading this to me as a child. As an adult I enjoyed it. There were some issues I had with the book but the good outweighed the bad.

What I loved most about this book was the relationships. The Gemstone Chronicles gave me something that I didn’t know I needed. Bad-ass grandparents on a fantasy adventure. I’m all about it. Sign me up for more. I related to almost all of the characters and I feel like that is one of the greatest parts of this book.

The descriptions of all the characters were so vivid and clear. The author put a lot of time into making them incredibly realistic. Even secondary characters were written so clearly.

My issue with this book was the pacing, and that might just be my own personal preference. I just felt that some parts were rushed, and it kind of threw off the pacing of the book.

I highly recommend this book to anyone that loves fantasy and adventure.

-fantasy/adventure-

Leave a Reply

