Review: Knock Out by Michele Mannon

18751068

Knock Out by Michele Mannon

Logan Rettino never imagined she’d fall so far. Dropped by her ex on national TV, she’s gone from prima ballerina to ring card girl, reduced to revving up the crowds before MMA bouts. However distasteful she finds her new job, it pays well…and she needs the money if she’s ever going to rebuild her life. Promised a huge bonus if she can convince a brooding, gifted welterweight to keep fighting, she’ll do whatever it takes to earn his trust.

Keane O’Shea is unbeatable in the octagon. A former marine, he fights with a ruthlessness no gym jockey can match. He knows his brutal strength is too much for the delicate ex-ballerina, regardless of how fascinating he finds Logan’s tight dancer’s body. But one private performance and he’s drawn to her in a way he can’t—or won’t—resist.

As Logan discovers the heartbreaking truth that lies beneath this handsome warrior’s rage, she’ll need to forfeit everything she thought mattered for the one thing that matters the most: saving Keane from himself.

-From Goodreads

My rating: 2 out of 5 stars

I was really intrigued by the blurb, but I was disappointed by the execution. I was looking forward to the ballerina and fighter conflict, but was again disappointed. I liked Logan occasionally, I thought she was strong in how she would not speak out about her ex in public even though he totally deserved it. However she would get on my nerves whenever she would feel sorry for himself, which was often. I never truly warmed up to Keane, he was very one dimensional until the last 20 pages.

I think the biggest issue I had was with the actual plot. Logan strikes a deal with her shady boss to get Keane back in the ring or else she is out of a job. It just made no sense. I thought that was going to be the actual conflict between them but she was pretty upfront with Keane, and I liked that. The real conflict was that Keane wouldn’t talk to Logan about anything. Literally nothing. Not his favorite food, not about the weather, nothing. I usually love the brooding hero but it didn’t work here. He needed help not a fight and it was apparent from the moment you met him, but Logan didn’t see it until the last 20 pages. It just made no sense.

There were some parts of the book that I liked, I wanted more of the conflict between her and the ex. I wanted to see his downfall, but it was written off quickly. I wanted him to suffer because he deserved it. The background characters were fun. I just was weighed down by my issues with the plot that I couldn’t rate this higher.

REVIEW ALSO FOUND ON MY GOODREADS!

Leave a Reply

